StrikersBlog: Hunger strike for Sudan #Strike4Sudan

From the blog Mimz
October 22nd 2013
Last month a powerful wave of protests swept across Sudan after the National Congress Party announced a lift on subsidies; making it almost impossible for law-abiding citizens to eke out a living under such harsh economic conditions. This time around, the turnout was much bigger, where thousands took to the streets throughout various Sudanese states. Seemingly panicking and unprepared, security forces took it upon themselves to murder hundreds of peaceful, unarmed protesters. This was all done amid a media blackout after the authorities decided to shut down internet services for more than 24 hours. Following further protests security forces also went on an arresting spree; kidnapping, detaining and torturing thousands of activists. Many media outlets covering these events, including Sky News Arabia and Al Arabiya, were shut down.
Triggered by the death of one student, the October Revolution of 1964 centered around a general strike that spread throughout the country. This resulted in numerous deaths, and on 15 November, it prompted the overthrow of General Abbud leading the country towards a democracy.
I started a hunger strike on 21 October 2013 and will resume the strike for 5 days. I am often asked why I am doing this, how this will create an impact, and if anyone will even know that I’m on a hunger strike. I was told that Bashir doesn’t even know that I exist, that he let millions starve before me and he wouldn’t care if I jumped off the Kober bridge and killed myself. I don’t care for these passive comments. They represent everything that is wrong with a large apathetic portion of our community.
I am on a hunger strike because it is my way to protest the injustices that have been taking place in my country for the past 24 years. I am on a hunger strike because I do not know how to be silent in the face of dictatorship. I am on a hunger strike to show my solidarity to families of martyrs and detainees. I am on strike because I believe in freedom of expression.
I am not alone in this strike. There are many of us. A dear friend of mine started a hunger strike solo a couple of weeks ago. People thought he was crazy, but today, he inspired dozens to follow in his footsteps.
Demands of the hunger strike are as follows:
1- Release of all political detainees;
2- Bringing those responsible for the killing of protesters to justice and allowing people to demonstrate without fear of detention or use of force;
3- Freedom of expression and allowing journalists to resume their role and lift the bans on newspapers.
Make your voice heard. Sign our petition.

2 thoughts on “StrikersBlog: Hunger strike for Sudan #Strike4Sudan

  1. In the early ninties I was the director of health for the Darfur region. I went to Khartoum in march 1990 and met Dr. Ali fadul who was my friend and colleague in the doctors union, postgraduate studies and a neighbor.
    Ali was a unionist leader and led a strike by the doctors of Sudan. Ali’s brother was then detained, to force him to hand himself in exchange.
    We had a long discussion about this and I was then torn apart: part of me was accepting the deal and this was based on nobility and our traditions of bravery. The other logical part of me believed that the cause is national and everybody including his brother should participate. I offered him to leave to Al Fasher with me till things cool down.

    That was the last time I saw my friend . Hundreds were arrested then, for us that was normal. When I came back to Khartoum, some early night we heard that the martyr Ali FAdul had been delivered dead under torture to the mortuary . He has a deep wound in his head, yet the cause of death was written Malaria.
    No inquiry had been done, although information came out about the torture to death, who is responsible and true cause of death.
    23 years had passed and the killers are still free, and for us we still remember him and see that justice had not taken place, even his family does not know where he is buried.
    During this period hundreds of thousands were detained, tortured and killed and justice had not been given the chance to take place.
    I am in my sixties now and it makes me furious to see that the killing machine: government of Sudan is still killing with cold blood the youth of my country and lying without any degree of responsibility or accountability.

    Dr. Amr Mahgoub
    Fellow of the Royal College of Public Health- UK
    Former regional advisor at the World Health Organization

Leave a Reply

